Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Linda Irish

NO HARM WILL BEFALL YOU

Yesterday was a big day…it was the last day that I could visit with my daughter in law Misty and my little grandson Blake, before they left to go back home to Texas. My son Daniel just got home from Iraq and they were excited to head home to see him. I was so happy for them.

Recently I was invited to be a guest on a local talk show here in Northern California, called “On Call” I am an Independent Living Instructor, or a Life Coach for people with disabilities. While I was at the studio, recording the show, which by the way, was a really awesome experience, I also met a man who was a Marine who was there to appear on a second show that they were taping that night.

This marine had spent a lot of time in the war in Iraq, and upon his return to the states his son, also a Marine, actually was being deployed to go to Iraq to serve.

The Marine, the elder, was in charge of a lot of men while he was serving his tour and I was curious about his faith. “I‘d heard that you were a Christian, Is that true? I asked him and he assured me that he was. “Did this experience make you closer with God? And that’s when the soldier told me that he kept a handkerchief in his pocket with Psalm 91 written on it…and that one scripture he’d held to and had faith in through all his hard times.

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most high
Will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord,” He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust..”
Surely He will save you from the fowlers snare
And from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wing you will find refuge.
His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
You will not fear the terror of night
Not the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
Nor the plague that destroys at midday.
A thousand may fall at your side,
Ten thousand at your right hand,